Seven Oaks

Sponsored By:

   The Nation  |  Business  |  Equipment  |  Features

TCA announces 6 finalists for Driver of the Year contest

The three owner-operator and company driver finalists will now compete for the grand prize in their respective categories.

The Trucker News Services


ALEXANDRIA, Va. — The Truckload Carriers Association (TCA) has announced the six finalists for the 2013 Driver of the Year competition.

The three owner-operator and company driver finalists will now compete for the grand prize in their respective categories.

Owner-Operator of the Year contest finalists include:

• Thomas Miller of Bunker Hill, Ill., who is leased to Prime inc., of Springfield, Mo.

• Bryan Smith of Asbury, Iowa, who is leased to Art Pape Transfer Inc. of Dubuque, Iowa

• Terrance Smith of Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada, who is leased to SLH Transport of Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Company Driver of the Year contest finalists:

• Reuben Dupsky of Fremont, Neb., who drives for Fremont Contract Carriers Inc., also of Fremont.

• Jack Fielding of McKellar, Ontario, Canada, who drives for Bison Transport of Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

• Allan Raffay of Hawley, Penn., who drives for Prime inc.

 “It is always such a privilege to be able to work with professional drivers of this caliber,” said Tom Kretsinger, Jr., president of American Central Transport, Inc., Liberty, Missouri, and TCA’s chairman. “I wish we could give every one of them the title of ‘Driver of the Year.’”

TCA’s Driver of the Year competition recognizes and pays tribute to the outstanding company and owner operator truck drivers who provide reliable and safe truck transportation in moving the nation's goods. The finalists and subsequent grand prizewinners are selected based on their ability to operate in a safe manner on the public highways, efforts to enhance the public image of the trucking industry, and positive contributions to the communities in which they live.

To be eligible for the contests, driver applicants had to meet certain minimum criteria, such as having driven one million consecutive, accident-free miles. Trucking companies were limited to nominating only five drivers for each contest. Previous grand prizewinners were not eligible to enter either contest again.

Driver applicants were evaluated based on operating information, work history, and safety record. Each also submitted a 300-word essay explaining why he/she is a good “trucking citizen” and should be a candidate for the grand prize. Equipment specifications, business plans, and financial statements were also reviewed for the owner-operator candidates.

The names of the grand prizewinners will be announced at TCA’s Annual Convention, to be held March 23-26, 2014, at the Gaylord Texan in Grapevine, Texas.

For further information on the Driver of the Year competition, visit

The Trucker staff can be reached to comment on this article at

Find more news and analysis from The Trucker, and share your thoughts, on Facebook.