Hunt


Sponsored By:

   The Nation  |  Business  |  Equipment  |  Features


Utah ban on dialing while driving goes into effect

The law is one of many new state measures going into effect Tuesday. It prohibits drivers from tapping out numbers or similar information on the devices.

The Associated Press

5/13/2014

SALT LAKE CITY — Drivers caught fumbling with their phones while on Utah roads may now face a $100 fine.

The law is one of many new state measures going into effect Tuesday.

It prohibits drivers from tapping out numbers or similar information on the devices.

But using phones to find directions is still allowed. The idea is to help police enforce a current state ban on driving and texting, says St. George Republican Sen. Stephen Urquhart, who sponsored the measure.

He says the earlier law comes up short because it doesn't bar drivers from using their phones in similarly distracting ways, like checking Facebook or changing a playlist.

If a driver injures someone by breaking the new law, the penalty could climb to a $1,000 fine and up to six months in jail.

The Trucker staff can be reached to comment on this article at editor@thetrucker.com.

Find more news and analysis from The Trucker, and share your thoughts, on Facebook.