Sunday, May 20, 2018

Walmart's Mike White takes grand trophy at national truck driving championship

Monday, August 15, 2016
Mike White poses with the trophies he was awarded for being named the 2016 national driving champion as well as the winner of the 3-Axle division. (Courtesy: AMERICAN TRUCKING ASSOCIATIONS)
Mike White poses with the trophies he was awarded for being named the 2016 national driving champion as well as the winner of the 3-Axle division. (Courtesy: AMERICAN TRUCKING ASSOCIATIONS)

INDIANAPOLIS — Mike White has been named the Bendix Grand Champion of the 2016 National Truck Driving Championships in Indianapolis.

“After an impressive showing throughout the week, Mike White emerged as the most skilled and knowledgeable truck driver in the country,” said ATA President and CEO Chris Spear. “On behalf of the ATA and the trucking community, I want to congratulate Mike and thank the entire field of competitors for participating in these championships. Your commitment to excellence has made the nation’s highways a safer place for everyone.”

ATA sponsors the championships.

To clinch the title, White’s driving skills and knowledge of transportation and truck safety surpassed the more than 430 other professional truck drivers competing in Indianapolis August 10-13 at the Indiana Convention Center here.

White, who also took home the 3-axle class title, lives in nearby Nineveh, Indiana, and drives professionally for Walmart Transportation.

ATA also recognized Richard Merich as the 2016 Rookie of the Year, who took home the honor after a strong performance in the flatbed division.

Merich, who lives in Lochbuie, Colorado, drives for FedEx Freight.

The driver team from South Carolina produced the best collective score, with an average of 278.13, and was honored as the top state delegation.

Professionalism and dedication to the trucking industry were key themes during the National Truck Driving Championships, Spear said.

Charles Woodland was honored during the awards banquet with the Neill Darmstadter Professional Excellence Award and Chris Ignowski, CDS, was chosen as the Lifetime Volunteer Award recipient.

Woodland lives in Surprise, Arizona, and drives for FedEx Freight.

Ignowski drives for FedEx Group.

ACT 1 served as a premier sponsor of the 2016 National Truck Driving Championships and National Step Van Driving Championships.

Bendix Commercial Vehicle Systems has been the sole sponsor of the Bendix National Truck Driving Championships Grand Champion since 2011.

Collectively, this week’s competitors have accumulated more than 600 million safe-driving miles during their careers as professional truck drivers. 

Champions from each of the nine classes and the top state delegation were also announced. Joining White, the 3-axle champion, on the list of national champions are:

4-Axle: Ronald Metternick, Lowell, Michigan, FedEx Freight

5-Axle: Toby Kort, Aurora, Nebraska, FedEx Freight

Flatbed: Jay Love, Davis, South Dakota, FedEx Freight

Sleeper Berth: Larry Breen, Bushnell, Florida, Walmart Transportation

Straight Truck: Charles Randolph, Belle, West Virginia, Pitt Ohio

Tank Truck: Jeffrey Langenhahn, Plover, Wisconsin, XPO Logistics

Twins: Chris Poynor, Richland, Washington, XPO Logistics

Step Van: Frank Woods, Shawsville, Virginia, FedEx Express

Vehicle Condition: William Pudney, Minneapolis, Minnesota, FedEx Freight

Full results from today’s final competition are below:

3-Axle: 1 — Mike White, Walmart Transportation, Indiana; 2 — Jimmie Wisley, YRC Freight, Kansas; 3 — Robin Sams, FedEx Freight, Arkansas; 4 — Robert Fernald,            Wal-Mart Transportation, Maine; 5 — Cedric Pack, FedEx Freight, Washington.

4-Axle: 1 — Ronald Metternick, FedEx Freight, Michigan; 2 — Eduardo Camacho, H-E-B Grocery Co., Texas; 3 — Allen Sohn, FedEx Freight, Iowa; 4 — Andres Orozco, FedEx Freight, Arizona; 5 — Aslaiyi Wilkes, Reddaway, Oregon.

5-Axle: 1 — Toby Kort, FedEx Freight, Nebraska; 2 — Larry Warr, Wal-Mart Transportation, Florida; 3 — Daniel Bruch, FedEx Freight, New Mexico; 4 — Christopher Novak, FedEx Express, Vermont; 5 — Darren Bogart, Wal-Mart Transportation, Kansas.

Flatbed: 1 — Jay Love, FedEx Freight, South Dakota; 2 — William Hill, Old Dominion Freight Line, Idaho; 3 — Donald Logan, FedEx Freight, Kansas; 4 — Robert Dean, XPO Logistics, Washington; 5 — Curtis McMellon, XPO Logistics, Louisiana.

Sleeper Berth: 1 — Larry Breen, Walmart Transportation, Florida; 2 — Bryan Elges, FedEx Freight         , Ohio; 3 — Ron Marker, Walmart Transportation, Indiana; 4 — Roland Bolduc, FedEx Express, Massachusetts; 5 — Barry Geck, Wal-Mart Transportation, Utah.

Straight Truck: 1 — Charles Randolph, PITT OHIO , West Virginia; 2 — Glendon Buzzell, Wal-Mart Transportation, Maine; 3 — Wilbur Johnson, FedEx Freight, Florida; 4 — James Carver, Safeway, Maryland; 5 — Jesse Benkert, Fedex Ground, Kentucky.

Tank Truck: 1 — Jeffrey Langenhahn, XPO Logistics, Wisconsin; 2 — Kenneth Painter,XPO Logistics, Montana; 3 — Allen Byrne, Wal-Mart Transportation, Utah; 4 — Steve Elliston, Wal-Mart Transportation, Michigan; 5 — Nickolas Backes, PITT OHIO            , West Virginia.

Twins: 1 — Chris Poynor, XPO Logistics, Washington; 2 — Andrew Kelly, ABF Freight System, Wyoming; 3 — James Luckadoo, UPS Freight, South Carolina; 4 — James McNeill, FedEx Freight, Mississippi; 5 — Stephen Black, Golub Corp/PriceChopper Supermarkets, New York.

Step Van: 1 — Frank Woods, FedEx Express, Virginia; 2 — Jeff Evans, FedEx Ground, New York; 3 — Curtis Harpole, FedEx Ground, Oklahoma; 4 —      Jason Imhoff, Wal-Mart Transportation, Ohio;          and 5 — Matthew Allison,            FedEx Ground, Colorado.

The Trucker staff can be reached to comment on this article at

Find more news and analysis from The Trucker, and share your thoughts, on Facebook.


Video Sponsors