Seven Oaks

Sponsored By:

   The Nation  |  Business  |  Equipment  |  Features

ATA names 32 finalists for America’s Road Team 2013-14

The 32 professional truck drivers now move on to the final round of the selection process, which will be held Jan. 6-8, 2013 in Arlington, Va.

The Trucker News Services


ARLINGTON, Va. — The American Trucking Associations Wednesday named 32 professional truck drivers as finalists in the selection process to become captains on the 2013-2014 America’s Road Team.

America’s Road Team is a group of professional truck drivers with superior safety records that created in 1986 to represent the trucking industry and is sponsored by Volvo Trucks.

The 32 professional truck drivers now move on to the final round of the selection process, which will be held Jan. 6-8, 2013 in Arlington, Va.

A panel of industry officials and trucking news media will judge the contestants on their knowledge of the trucking industry, dedication to safety, ability to communicate the industry’s messages and overall safe driving record.

The newly chosen 2013-2014 America’s Road Team will be announced on Jan. 9.






New captains, after receiving their signature, navy blue America’s Road Team blazer, will begin their two-year term working to share the industry’s message of safety, essentially and sustainability with the motoring public, news media, business and community leaders, public officials and their fellow drivers across the nation.

“America’s Road Team represents the best of the best,” said ATA President and CEO Bill Graves.  “The 32 professional drivers selected as finalists all have impressive driving records, share a passion for safety and are engaged in their communities. We are honored to have them participate in this prestigious selection process.”

To be nominated to serve as an America’s Road Team Captain, professional truck drivers must be employed or leased to an ATA member company.

Each nominee should have an excellent safety record, and should demonstrate an ability to communicate his or her commitment to safety and passion for the industry.

Nominees should also portray a positive image of the professional truck driver in all that they do, the ATA said.

The 2013-2014 America’s Road Team finalists, company and home city and state include:


Mark Bigalk, FedEx Ground, White Bear Lake, Minn.; Don Biggerstaff, ABF Freight System; Maiden, N.C.; John Borman, Kock Trucking, Lino Lakes, Minn.; Byron Bramwell, YRC Freight, Centerview, Mo.; Ted Carlson, FedEx Freight, Vancouver, Wash.; David Conklin, YRC Freight, LaPorta, Ind.; Kevin Dean, YRC Freight, Rockmart, Ga.; Herschel Evans, Holland Inc., Bremen, Ga.; Mick Galbraith, Con-way Freight, Knoxville, Tenn.; Paul Hamilton, URC Freight, Sun City, Calif.; Jeffrey Halford, Con-way Freight, Meridian, Ind.; Loren Hatfield, ABF Freight System, Maumelle, Ark.; Kirk Neil, Penske Logistics, Middletown, N.Y.; Stephanie Klang, Con-way Truckload, Diamond, Mo.’ John Lex, Walmart Transportation, Monroe, Ga.; Don Logan, FedEx Freight, Eskridge, Kan.

Also, John McKown, UPS Freight, Mechanicsburg, Pa.; Rod Miles, Con-way Freight, Lauderhill, Fla.; Thomas Miller, Prime inc., Bunkerhill, Ill.; Kevin Miskiewicz, YRC Freight, Royersford, Pa.; Bradley Morrow, Con-way Freight, Fargo, N.D.; Christine Putnam, Walmart Transportation, Hesperia, Calif.; Paul Savill, UPS Freight, Hamilton, Ohio; Otto Schmeckenbecher, ABF Freight System, Little Rock, Ark.; James Schutte, UPS Freight, Indianapolis; James Staff, Groendyke Transportation, Wichita, Kan.; Todd Stine, Carbon Express, Altoona, Pa,; Clarence “Eddie” Weeks, AAA Cooper, Silver Springs, Fla.; Kirk Swis, ABF Freight System, Rio Rancho, N.M.; Nathan Wick, UPS Freight, Isanti, Minn.; Dale Williams, Trimac Transportation, Centerville, Ala., and Bryan Wold, Con-way Freight, Reiles Acres, N.D.

For more information, visit

The Trucker staff can be reached to comment on this article at

Find more news and analysis from The Trucker, and share your thoughts, on Facebook.

Seven Oaks