Wednesday, February 22, 2017

West Virginia to begin enforcing texting-driving ban


Friday, June 29, 2012
Violating the law is punishable by a $100 fine for a first offense.
Violating the law is punishable by a $100 fine for a first offense.

CHARLESTON, W.Va.  — Motorists will soon risk getting pulled over and ticketed if they text while driving in West Virginia.

The State Police and other law enforcement agencies plan to start enforcing this part of a new distracted driving law on Sunday.

Also as of July 1, drivers can be cited for hands-on cell phone use. But that violation along cannot trigger a traffic stop until mid-2013.

Violating the law is punishable by a $100 fine for a first offense.

State Police officials say troopers will apply discretion while enforcing the new law. That department and other state agencies hope an ongoing education campaign will help dissuade motorists from this common but dangerous habit.

West Virginia has put up signs along highways and taken other steps to alert people to the looming ban.

The Trucker staff can be reached for comment at editor@thetrucker.com.

Find more news and analysis from The Trucker, and share your thoughts, on Facebook.

 

Video Sponsors