About Truckload Carriers Association

About Truckload Carriers Association

Truckload Carriers Association

The Truckload Carriers Association (TCA) is the only trade association whose collective sole focus is the truckload segment of the motor carrier industry. Founded in 1938, the Truckload Carriers Association represents dry van, refrigerated, flatbed, tanker, and intermodal container carriers. TCA is an organization tailored to specific truckload carrier needs.

The association is headquartered in Alexandria, Virginia, with easy access to the nation’s capital, the Department of Transportation, and other trucking-related organizations. TCA is led by a 10-member board of directors made up of top-level executives of association members and a staff of 13 professionals.

The Trucker Media Group is proud to partner with the TCA to publish Truckload Authority, the official digital and print magazine of the TCA. Truckload Authority includes current and proposed governmental regulations and legislative issues affecting the trucking industry, insider perspectives by industry leaders and information about TCA programs, activities and topics affecting its truckload carrier members. To see Truckload Authority online edition, Click Here.

For more information about Truckload Carriers Association, or how to join, visit www.truckload.org.

Sponsored by McLeod Software

Truckload Carriers Association chairman, Dennis Dellinger, provides insight on TCA initiatives

More Chat with the Chairman


Truckload Carriers Association president, John Lyboldt, provides updates on TCA’s efforts and related industry information

A Good Time to Become Involved
Truckload Authority Staff – May 7, 2021


More President’s Purview

TCA Programs


Highway Angel

Since its inception in 1997, Truckload Carriers Association’s Highway Angel program has recognized professional truck drivers for the exemplary courtesy and courage they have shown others while on North America’s roadways while on the job.  Their good deeds range from simple acts of kindness, such as fixing a flat tire, to heroic life-saving efforts, such as pulling someone from a burning vehicle and administering CPR.

Highway Angels are nominated by their employers, fellow professional truck drivers, or the motorists they’ve assisted.  If you know of, witness, or experience an exceptional act of kindness or courtesy by a professional truck driver while he/she is on the job, Click Here.


Truckload Academy

Truckload Carriers Association provides opportunities for its members to educate and train their skilled workforces in order to develop a safer, smarter, more profitable industry. Truckload Academy offers educational tools suitable to train every aspect of a member’s fleet from managers to insurance purchasers.

Truckload Academy presents complimentary webinars on Thursdays from 1 to 2 p.m. ET. These interactive events offer TCA members live access to top industry thought-leaders and subject-matter experts on today’s trending trucking industry topics.


TCA members who are committed to furthering professional development can consider Truckload Academy Certificates. In its unfaltering commitment to the industry, Truckload Academy developed and continues to grow this program for professionals who are dedicated to advancing their careers and contributing to the success of their companies.

The following certificates are available: Fleet Manager Certificate, Human Resources Certificate, Retention Certificate and Recruitment Certificate.


TCA Profitability Program

Want to see how your operation stacks up? The Truckload Carriers Association Profitability Program (TPP) is the trucking industry’s premier performance improvement solution, fusing TCA’s popular best practice groups and the powerful inGauge online benchmarking platform.

TPP’s multi-tiered system allows carriers the flexibility to choose exactly how much time and resources they want to dedicate to the program, with plans ranging from simple snapshot composites to full online access and bi-annual meetings.



The overall goal of the TCA Driver of the Year Contest is to recognize and pay tribute to the company drivers and owner-operators who provide reliable and safe truck transportation in moving the nation’s goods.

Three finalists are chosen for the company driver and owner-operator categories from which a grand prize winner will be selected from each category.

The grand prize winners are recognized and honored based on his/her ability to operate in a safe manner on the public highways, efforts to enhance the public image of the trucking industry, and positive contributions to the community in which he/she lives. The grand prize winners are announced each year at TCA’s Annual Convention


Each fall, TCA members submit online applications for one of trucking’s most important competitions — the Fleet Safety Awards. Carriers placing first, second, and third in each of six mileage-based divisions are honored.

The winners are selected based on their accident ratios in any given year. Division winners are subject to an audit for ratio accuracy and invited to compete for one of two grand prizes — carriers with annual mileage of 25 million or fewer miles vie for one, while companies with more than 25 million miles compete for the other.

The grand prize winners are announced each year at TCA’s Annual Convention.


Since 1973, the TCA Scholarship Fund has been helping students with connections to the truckload industry. The Fund awards up to $6,250 per year, per full-time undergraduate college student. Much of our program’s support comes from within the truckload family — companies and individuals who are committed to our community’s future.


The TCA Safety Professional of the Year – the Clare C. Casey Award —  recognizes a person whose actions and achievements have had a profound and positive impact on safety on the nation’s highways and is dedicated to serving the industry, his/her company and the motoring public. A winner of the award must be employed full-time by a trucking company with motor carrier operating authority and must be directing safety activities for his/her fleet at the supervisory level.


The Past Chairmen’s Award is the highest honor given by the Truckload Carriers Association. Every year, TCA’s past chairmen present the award to a recognized industry leader who has made a significant contribution to the truckload industry, and is recognized as a successful businessperson and association leader. Contrary to the award’s name, the awardee does not have to be a past chairman of the association. Winners can be individuals outside the trucking industry as long as they have made a significant contribution to the truckload industry.

To see a complete listing of upcoming TCA events, visit www.truckload.org.