Kevin Burch receives Past Chairmen’s Award

Kevin Burch receives Past Chairmen’s Award
Kevin Burch accepts the Past Chairmen’s Award during the annual convention. (Courtesy: Truckload Carriers Association)

Kevin Burch, president of Jet Express, Inc., of Dayton, Ohio, has been awarded the Truckload Carriers Association’s prestigious Past Chairmen’s Award.


Burch has amassed more than 40 years of experience in the trucking industry, which includes less-than-truckload, truckload, air freight, and consolidation. He has also been instrumental in the Trucking Moves America Forward (TMAF) initiative that is designed to enhance the image of trucking among the general public.

Since 1990, Burch has been president of Jet Express, Inc., as well as a partner in the company. Under Burch’s leadership, the company has grown to 90 company drivers, 220 owner-operators, and 600 trailers. The company handles up to 400 truckloads per day throughout the United States, primarily for the “just-in-time” automotive industry. Providing excellent service, the company was awarded the prestigious “Worldwide Supplier Award” three consecutive years by General Motors.

In addition to serving as TCA Chairman in 2009-10, he is currently active on the TCA Membership Committee and is a past chairman of the Communications & Image Policy Committee.

Since 1990, Burch has also been an active member of the American Trucking Associations (ATA) as its vice chairman and chairman of Lead ATA, and currently serves as a member of the Trucking Moves America Forward image-management committee.

Burch is a trustee of the Ohio Trucking Association, a member of the Miami Valley Transportation Club in Dayton, Ohio, and is involved in numerous committees including the Miami Valley Regional Planning Commission. Recently he accepted a board position on the Dayton Area Chamber of Commerce.

He is also active with the local Boy Scouts of America troop and the Transportation Research Board (TRB) in Washington, D.C. Burch acquired his Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) in September 2008.

The Past Chairmen’s Award is TCA’s highest honor. Recipients are leaders who have made a significant contribution to the business community, the trucking industry, and the organization. The awardee does not have to be a past chairman of the Association.


The Truckload Authority News Staff, comprised of award winning journalists and graphic artists, produces content for Truckload Authority, working in cooperation with the Truckload Carriers Association staff. Truckload Authority aims to keep TCA members abreast on the latest trends in the trucking industry as well as articles that feature TCA member executives and drivers. The Truckload Authority staff is based in Little Rock, Arkansas.
For over 30 years, the objective of The Trucker editorial team has been to produce content focused on truck drivers that is relevant, objective and engaging. After reading this article, feel free to leave a comment about this article or the topics covered in this article for the author or the other readers to enjoy. Let them know what you think! We always enjoy hearing from our readers.