WIT, Freightliner seek nominations for 2020 Influential Women in Trucking award

WIT, Freightliner seek nominations for 2020 Influential Women in Trucking award
Ruth Lopez, center, director of transportation management for Ryder System Inc., was the 2019 recipient of the Influential Women in Trucking Award. Nominations for the 2020 award will be accepted through July 31. (Courtesy: Women In Trucking)

PLOVER, Wis. — The Women In Trucking Association (WIT) and Freightliner Trucks are seeking nominations for the 2020 Influential Woman in Trucking award. This year will mark the 10th anniversary of the award.


The award honors women who make or influence key decisions in a corporate, manufacturing, supplier, owner-operator, driver, sales or dealership setting. The winner must have a proven record of responsibility and have mentored or served as a role model to other women in the industry.

“When I first started my career, there were very few women in the trucking industry let alone in leadership positions,” said Kary Schaefer, general manager of Freightliner and Western Star product marketing and strategy for Daimler Trucks North America.

“It’s amazing to see how the industry has changed and women are now a driving force in all areas of trucking,” she continued. “Freightliner is proud to sponsor this award and recognize those women who are not only making a difference in their own roles but for all women in the trucking profession.”

Nominations will be accepted through July 31; click here to nominate a trucking-industry professional for the award.

The winner will be announced at the WIT Accelerate! Conference & Expo Sept. 23-25 in Dallas. In addition, each finalist will be asked to serve as a panelist for the “How Remarkable Women Unleash Their Leadership Potential” panel discussion. Those that nominate a candidate should ask the nominee to save the date for the conference if she is named a finalist.

“The Influential Woman in Trucking Award honors extraordinary female leaders who have been advocates and role models to others,” said Ellen Voie, president and CEO of WIT. “With 2020 being the 10th anniversary of the award, I’m more excited than ever to see the caliber of nominations submitted.”

Past recipients of the Influential Woman in Trucking award include Marcia Taylor, CEO of Bennett International Group; Rebecca Brewster, president and COO of the American Transportation Research Institute; Joyce Brenny, president of Brenny Transportation Inc./Brenny Specialized Inc.; Rochelle Bartholomew, CEO of CalArk International; Kari Rihm, president of Rihm Kenworth; Ramona Hood, currently president and CEO at FedEx Custom Critical; Daphne Jefferson, formerly deputy administrator of the USDOT/FMCSA; Angela Eliacostas, founder and CEO of AGT Global Logistics; and Ruth Lopez, director of transportation management for Ryder System Inc.

The Trucker News Staff produces engaging content for not only, but also The Trucker Newspaper, which has been serving the trucking industry for more than 30 years. With a focus on drivers, the Trucker News Staff aims to provide relevant, objective content pertaining to the trucking segment of the transportation industry. The Trucker News Staff is based in Little Rock, Arkansas.
For over 30 years, the objective of The Trucker editorial team has been to produce content focused on truck drivers that is relevant, objective and engaging. After reading this article, feel free to leave a comment about this article or the topics covered in this article for the author or the other readers to enjoy. Let them know what you think! We always enjoy hearing from our readers.